COLORADO BOOK AWARD FINALIST

In Paperback June 4th!

 
 

“10 BEST BOOKS OF JUNE”

—Christian Science Monitor

A narrative that reads like a captivating novel...Hers is a voice not found often enough in literature – a woman who eschews the prescribed role outlined for her by her family and discovers her own path. “

— Joan Gaylord, Christian Science Monitor

Karen Auvinen is an American maverick. Vital, wild and true.“

— Luis Alberto Urrea, Author of The House of the Broken Angels

“There are many books about seasons in the wilderness but this is one about a life in it….Rough Beauty has the power to change lives. It stands as an antidote to the brittle and the electronic, the hurried way we rush through our days.”

— David Gessner, author of All the Wild That Remains

“Rough Beauty offers a glimpse into a life that’s pared down to its essentials, open to unexpected, even profound, change.”

— Tucker Combe, Brevity Magazine

“This breathtaking memoir honors the wildness of the Rockies and shows readers how they might come to rely on their animal companions.”

Publisher’s Weekly, Starred Review

A wrenchingly evocative memoir. It is a story of loss, but it is also a story of transformation, of finding shards of hope among the ashes and moving forward with gratitude and grace and courage.”

— James Campbell, author of Braving It

OUTSTANDING! [A] beautiful story of resilience perfect for readers of Terry Tempest Williams. “

— Kirkus, Starred Review